You are here:  Awards  >  2011 Awards Winners
2011 Award Winners
2011 Award Winners - Shriver-Kennedy Student Achievement Award
Recipient: Jordan Obrecht

Teresa Taber Doughty and Toni Merfeld pictured with Jordan Obrecht accepting the inaugural Shriver-Kennedy Student Achievement Award.
2011 Award Winners - Practitioners Presentation Award
"A Hands on Approach for Struggling Readers"

Recipient: Heidi Hyte, Reading Horizons Curriculum Manager and ESL Director in North Salt Lake, Utah

"Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Medical and Educational Collaboration"

Recipient: Irene Meier, Director of Special Education Instructional for Fairfax County Public Schools

Teresa Taber Doughty pictured with Heidi Hyte and Irene Meier
"Increasing Pro-social Skills through a Multi-dimensional Social Story"

Recipient: Grace Francis, Doctoral Student at the University of Kansas
What's New
In the News

The DADD Board of Directors supports the American Academy of Pediatrics Recommended Immunization Schedule for Persons Aged 0 through 18 years of age. Over two dozen epidemiological studies failed to identify a causal relationship between vaccinations and autism. The initial research that suggested such a relationship has been discredited. We recommend all families discuss vaccinations with their family health care provider on how best to maintain the health and safety of their child and those who cannot be immunized due to medical reasons. 

Download the 2010 DADD Showcase Sessions. Presenters included Robert A. Stodden, Dianne Zager, and Debra Hart speaking about "Preparing Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder and Intellectual Disabilities for Postsecondary Education and Employment"